Sanctuaries

A Place of Refuge. A Sacred Home.

 

“It is compassion that removes the heavy bar, opens the door to freedom, makes the narrow heart as wide as the world. Compassion takes away from the heart the inert weight, the paralyzing heaviness; it gives wings to those who cling to the lowlands of self.”

Nyanaponika Thera

Many remarkable people around the globe work tirelessly on behalf of great apes. They rescue and care for orphaned chimpanzees, bonobos, orangutans and gorillas, building permanent retirement sanctuaries for these apes in dire need of safe and loving homes. Many sanctuaries care for chimpanzees and orangutans that have been rescued from biomedical research labs, the exotic pet trade, entertainment industry, and from difficult situations where they were kept as pets. It is a monumental task to care for these beings for the rest of their natural lives, as many great apes live well into their late 50’s.

The sanctuaries listed below are living models of dedication, compassion and skill. Find out what each of the sanctuaries are doing, read about the individual apes and explore ways to support them.

A few ideas:
  • Donate money
  • Plan a special fundraiser
  • Offer your time to help in one of their on-going projects
  • Purchase items on their wish list
  • Write articles about them for your local papers
  • Post info about them on social media sites
  • Bring these issues and ideas to local schools to get children involved

United States

Save the Chimps: savethechimps.org (Florida)
Center for Great Apes: centerforgreatapes.org (Florida)
Chimpanzee Sanctuary NW: chimpsanctuarynw.org (Washington)
Chimp Haven: chimphaven.org (Louisiana)
Chimps, Inc: chimps-inc.org (Oregon)
Primate Rescue Center: primaterescue.org (Kentucky)

Canada

Fauna Foundation: faunafoundation.org (Quebec)

Africa

Cameroon

Sanaga-Yong Chimpanzee Rescue Center: ida-africa.org
Limbe Wildlife Centre: limbewildlife.org
Ape Action Africa: apeactionafrica.org

Congo

Tchimpounga Chimpanzee Rehabilitation Center: janegoodall.org
Help Congo – Habitat Ecologique et aliberte’ des Primates: help-primates.org 

Democratic Republic of Congo

Lwiro: lwiro.blogspot.com
J.A.C.K.(Jeunes Animaux Confisques au Katanga/Young animals confiscated in Katanga): jackdrc.org
Lola ya Bonobo: friendsofbonobos.org

Gambia

Chimpanzee Rehabilitation Project: chimprehab.com

Guinea

Center for Chimpanzee Conservation: projectprimate.org

Kenya

Sweetwaters Chimpanze Sanctuary: olpejetaconservancy.org

Sierra Leone

Tacugama Chimpanzee Sanctuary: tacugama.com

South Africa

Jane Goodall Institute: janegoodall.co.za

Uganda

Chimpanzee Sanctuary & Wildlife Conservation Trust (Ngamba Island): ngambaisland.org

Zambia

Chimfunshi Wildlife Orphanage: chimfunshi.org.za

Speak the Truth, Speak Out, Help the Chimpanzees!

SPEAK THE TRUTH, SPEAK OUT, HELP THE CHIMPANZEES!